Scotland's Whisky Regions
Like wine, whisky is categorised by region; unlike wine, their boundaries are not quite so straightforward. These regions (Highland, Lowland, Speyside and Islay) are regulated by different distilling policy laws, impacting on taste, making it relatively easy to distinguish one from another. However, these geographical taste differences are guidelines as opposed to rules, and this is where the pleasure of whisky tasting comes in.

The parameters of the Scottish whisky regions were originally determined by old taxation and regulation; however, there is still a taste distinction; clearly evident between the Highlands and the Lowlands of Scotland. The ancient alchemy of malted barley and pure Scottish water is said to cast a spell over the distilling process, making single malts differ vastly in style, taste and character depending upon where in Scotland they originate.

Whether you enjoy a spicy Islay, or a mellow Lowland, McClelland’s has a taste to match your mood. Click the areas on the map to explore each different region for yourself…

whisky region
product range
whisky wheel
photo gallery
whisky guide